Rainy Day

I suppose you surmised by the title that it is raining. We’ve had quite a bit of it and it is supposed to continue through the weekend.  I know many people who find that rainy days are depressive and glum.  I however, share no such sentiments.
For me, rainy days seem to set me on the road toward relaxation. The sound of the rain washes over me and takes my day to day stress along with it.  Layer that sound with some Tchaikovsky quietly playing in the background, then pair it up with a cup of coffee and I am in rainy day heaven.   I’ll be honest. Last night was a little bit rough. Our youngest Nerdling seems to be scared of thunder, so around 11pm I found myself awoken from a sound sleep to a crying 6 year old who was climbing on top of me to be held and comforted. So we laid like that for the rest of the night. Of course she slept soundly while I was unable to move,  I move a lot in my sleep.
I decided shortly after waking up that today would be a day of enjoying our much needed rain.  I find it difficult to motivate myself to be productive when it is raining anyway, all I want to do is snuggle up in bed with a book and a cup of coffee.  Though today I opted for the coffee, open windows and playing WoW as I haven’t had much time to play lately.  That venture proved highly enjoyable. I ran some quests with some friends, sometimes there is nothing more satisfying.  I do have some wonderful friends in game!

I did spend some time reading as well. Last week I began reading the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger.

I will readily admit that this is one of several series that I could (and do almost annually) read over and over and over. This happens to have been my fourth time reading through these books.  I love the combination of steampunk/Victorian, vampires and werewolves.  I will be honest and judge me if you must, but I adore Lord Akeldama! These books are witty and fun and I absolutely cannot get enough of them.  I recently discovered that there is a Manga version that I would absolutely love to add to my collection. Alas, I just don’t have the funds right now! Though admittedly I would love to have both the books and manga in book format, rather than ebook format.  There is something about holding a book in your hands and turning the pages that appeals to me beyond anything else.

Leave a Reply

