Oatmeal Bars on the First Day of School

Yep, it’s that time of year again.  A time when parents get to enjoy the mixed emotions that come with sending their kids back to school. Let me tell you, this year is a doozy.  1st, 6th and 8th grade. Yep that’s right. I officially have 2 middle school nerdlings.

 

First day of school 2015

First day of school 2015 / My goodness that boy needs a haircut!

It hurts  my soul… a lot.  Not to mention that whole mixed emotions thing? I fully intend to fill my day with mind numbing activities aaand a little touch of grown up responsibility.  You know, an unhealthy dose of WoW and a deficient dose of house cleaning.  Don’t judge me, I’m judging myself enough for all of us, BELIEVE you me…My house looks like a tornado went through it. In Texas, that ain’t nothin to joke about.
Though, to my credit I haven’t cried once.  No, seriously! This is a great accomplishment!  I was up before dawn with no coffee in sight, this day has been on crisis status. So far nothing has changed! Other than all the nerdlings have been shipped off to their various schools, ON TIME might I add. [Applause] We even got to walk my very anxious 1st grader to her classroom and get her school supplies unloaded.  She was an anxious mess until we convinced her that her place at head of her table ensured her status as The Nerdling President of her table. That made her giggle a lot. Then a couple of her friends from kinder showed up at her table and I noticed her visibly relax.  I felt a lot better, then considering that I absolutely adore her teacher. Win/Win
We have been truly lucky with amazing teachers!
Miraculously enough, I had time after we dropped the youngest 2 nerdlings off at school. So, since we had a little time to kill,  I took my oldest nerdling on our traditional 1st day of school coffee date.

Our coffee tradition

Our coffee tradition

We’ve done this the past 3 years now. Definitely one of my absolute favorite school traditions, I wouldn’t trade this time with her for anything! Did I mention I finally got my coffee?

Now on to the good stuff. I totally have another recipe to share. I have had a couple of people asking for it soooo, I really shouldn’t be procrastinating too much longer. I’ve got to keep my waiting public happy, right?

This one is quick, easy and pretty healthy. I am not gonna lie, I may eat way too many of these.  For that reason alone, I think next time I will put them in candy molds instead of bar form.

 

Coconut bars

Oatmeal Coconut Bars

Oatmeal Coconut Bars
Preparation time: About 5 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes
But they will need to set in the refrigerator for about 2 hours or until it’s completely chilled. (I left mine overnight)

Ingredients:
1 1/2 C  Extra virgin coconut Oil
2 1/2 C Unsweetened coconut flakes
1/4 C Sweetened coconut flakes1  C Old Fashioned oatmeal
1 Tsp Vanilla extract
1/3 Tsp Course ground sea salt
3 tsp Honey  (or your preferred sugar replacement)
(Optional) Melted dark or semi-sweet chocolate.

Preheat your oven to 350°F

In a medium pan combine the coconut oil, unsweetened coconut flakes, oatmeal, salt and honey. Cook over low heat for about 10 minutes and stir occasionally, making sure the dry ingredients are well coated with the oil so it can cook into them.

Take pan off heat and stir in the vanilla.

Pour mixture into an ungreased 9×11 pan. Use a spoon to spread evenly. Make sure the coconut oil is evenly distributed on the bottom.

On a cookie sheet, spread the sweetened coconut flakes in an even single layer. Bake for about 7 minutes or until the coconut is light golden brown. Stir occasionally so that the coconut is evenly toasted and doesn’t burn.  Keep a close eye on it though, once it starts toasting it can burn really fast.

Sprinkle the toasted coconut on top of the bars and let everything cool to room temperature. Place in the refrigerator to chill until the coconut oil is firm.

(optional) Drizzle chocolate on top.

Place in the refrigerator to chill until the coconut oil is firm.

Leave a Reply

