New year, new goals, new life

It has been well over a year since I have run consistently.  The little 3 mile runs I force myself into every month or so just ain’t cutting it.
  Honestly as accomplished as it feels to have 3 World of Warcraft level 100 Alliance toons , it is time to straighten my priorities a little. I admit it is nice to hide behind my computer and play a game.  It’s also nice to not feel winded after a short race with my kids. Or not hear my back and knees pretending to be Snap, Crackle and Pop every time I stand up. (Really its quite impressive.)
   It’s not my looks I’m so concerned about.  Yeah, you can doubt me if you want, but I am content with my appearance. If I could continue eating all the sweets I want without worries of health related repercussions,  I would.  Sweets are my greatest weakness.
  You would not believe (or if you are physically active you probably will) the rush of accomplishment you get from pushing your body a little more than it thinks it can go. Breaking personal records? It’s one of the best feelings.
Not only that, but the sense of self confidence, and of self worth that you gain from improving your life in this way is amazing. At least for me. Physical activity and changing my eating habits in a healthy manner may change my outer appearance. It also changes my mindset in many ways.
You see, when you struggle to see anything that is good about yourself, like I do, it is a good lifestyle change to make. You view life in a more positive light because you view yourself in a more positive light.
  I’ve been thinking a lot about the new year. It is January after all. I am really not one for new years resolutions.  In my opinion those are made to be broken. No, I am thinking long term.  I am making goals and trying to plan ahead.
I could say ” I’m gonna lose 50 pounds this year!” Until the cows come home. Where will that get me? Pretty much nowhere.  That would leave me more frustrated than when I began.
  I want to go back to a place where migraines are a thing of the past. Where  accomplishments I can take pride in are a thing of the future.  Between now and February 1, I plan to create a list of goals.  I want to have goals that are realistic. I want them to be something I can look forward as a focus. My rewards will be accomplishments gained. Not necessarily something I can buy once those goals are completed.
  If I create realistic goals to work toward, I think I could actually find excitement in being active again. It would give me something to take pride in.
    Now, I’m not saying this is going to stop being a nerdy blog.  I have my nerdiness, don’t get me wrong.  But this is a blog for me.  So while some posts may be nerdy, others may not.
This has been a topic of great debate in my mind. Seriously. My mind just needs to stop.
  I hope you, my beloved readers, will follow along the journey’s I shall embark upon.  Prepare yourselves and if you haven’t already click on that “follow” button, you may want to consider doing so.  I’m not sure what this year holds, but it’s gonna be good. I can use all the motivation I can get!

image

Leave a Reply

